Duke of Edinburgh


ISCAT offers Key Stage 4 students the opportunity to participate in the prestigious Duke of Edinburgh International Award through activities which foster personal growth, self-sufficiency, responsibility and discipline across the following areas:

  • Community service
  • Skills
  • Physical activities and challenges
  • Adventure expeditions

This award was first created in 1956 by Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, to offer recognition to young people between the ages of 14 and 25 for their effort and commitment. It is currently offered in 140 countries and is recognised by educational institutions and universities all over the world.

The award is comprised of three levels, each of which requires an increased level of commitment. Participating students need to complete four sections in each level during a specified period of time. The Gold Award requires, in addition, completion of a residential project.

  • Bronze Award (from 14 years)
  • Silver Award (from 15 years)
  • Gold Award (from 16 years)

Therefore, at ISCAT we are proud to offer our Year 10 students the opportunity to participate in the Bronze Award. The programme complements perfectly the academic activities at our school and students prepare for the challenges of the Duke of Edinburgh Award as part of their Forest School programme.

Further information can be found at: www.intaward.org